8 Comments

I generally wake up at an ungodly hour, so other people don't affect my output much. The down side to that is I can't blame anyone but myself.

Expand full comment
author

Oh my goodness part of me is envious of that ungodly hour time you must gather up. Another part of me is internally screaming at me for even daydreaming about anything that will steal sleep time! Lol!

Expand full comment

The trick is to also fall asleep at an ungodly early hour 😂 Honestly, I learned that my brain is better when it's struggling to wake up in the morning than when it's struggling to stay awake at night. It's not sexy but it just works.

Expand full comment
author

Haha! I get this too. I used to be a ridiculous night owl. That was where I used to truly tip the scales to ungodliness, but I don't know if it is being a mom, or post-Covid, nowadays, my whole body starts screaming at me by 11pm. I can't even believe it.

Wait a second... maybe its age? Oh noooo.... it's probably that.

Anyway, I am planning on diving back into Morning Pages in the new year which do get me to the page during that struggle wake up time, so maybe this time next year I, too, will be an ungodly early hour writing convert with you!

Expand full comment

I’m stupidly busy, at least in part because of doing an Advantage Adventure (publishing a short chapter a day until the 24th) but not managing to write it in November! It turns out I benefit from tight deadlines so am actually writing more in December than usually. Sigh.

Expand full comment
author

I know this speed! The tight deadline that makes all things suddenly possible when it never should have come to this in the first place. I hate to say that often inspires me to write a hell of a lot. Good luck and happy writing to you!!

Expand full comment
founding
Dec 12, 2023Liked by Nicole Rivera

My holidays are low-key, so I don't feel affected too much. I might be slightly more productive just because of holiday lags or closures in institutions & businesses. Seems as if there's not as much email over the holidays.

Expand full comment
author

OMG Yes! The wonderful lull of email after the holiday influx. What a true joy! There is a beautiful kind of calm in between the gatherings, and if the gatherings are low key, then what a wonderful way to unwind the year!

Expand full comment